Understanding the Hospice Eligibility Criteria


Understanding the eligibility criteria for hospice is crucial for families considering this compassionate care approach for their loved ones. The following are key points that define eligibility for hospice services in California.

  • Diagnosis of a Life-Limiting Illness
    Eligibility for hospice care in Fresno, California, typically requires a diagnosis of a life-limiting illness. A physician usually makes this diagnosis when the patient’s condition limits life expectancy to six months or less, should the illness follow its normal course.
  • Focus on Comfort Rather than Cure
    Hospice services focus on palliative care, pivoting from curative treatment. It ensures the patient’s comfort in the closing chapters of life. The shift to hospice occurs when there are signs treatment is no longer beneficial or desired by the patient in terms of extending life.
  • Physician Certification
    Eligibility for hospice care requires certification by a physician. This certification, often provided by the patient’s primary doctor and the hospice nurse, confirms that the patient meets the medical criteria for hospice services.
  • Patient and Family Consent
    Consent is a critical part of transitioning to hospice care. It involves informed agreement from the patient and their family to receive compassionate care. With their consent must come the recognition that care focuses on ensuring the quality of life rather than curing the illness.

At Fresno Hospice, we are committed to guiding families through understanding hospice care eligibility. We ensure that every patient and family receives the highest level of care and support through the transition. We believe in providing dignified and compassionate care, respecting their needs and wishes.

This entry was posted in Hospice Eligibility Criteria and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *